Born and raised in Chicago, XAN ARANDA is a Los Angeles-based Emmy nominated filmmaker and the showrunner of a new (and currently untitled) Netflix series. Her previous work includes a wide range of fiction and documentary film and TV, branded content, commercials, music videos, and more.

With Mark and Jay Duplass, Xan developed and serves as an Executive Producer of HBO's ROOM 104. She also produced BLUE JAY with Mel Eslyn, starring Sarah Paulson, which premiered at TIFF and sold to Netflix. Xan produced the Duplass Brothers first commercial in 2015.

Xan's Emmy nomination was alongside Jill Soloway for Transparent's "This Is Me" --a collection of short films for which she served as Producer and Co-Executive Producer.

After its world premiere at the New York Film Festival and Lincoln Center, Xan's directorial debut Andrew Bird: Fever Year screened in more than 90 festivals, taking home nine awards.

Her music video collaborations with Grammy-nominee Neko Case been positively received and aggregated by Rolling Stone, Billboard, Spin, Pitchfork, Paste, StereoGum, and numerous others.

Xan is a producer of the award-winning Kartemquin Films (Hoop Dreams) release Milking the Rhino, which filmed in Kenya and Namibia and screened on five continents. She served as Outreach Director for Prisoner of Her Past, directed by Gordon Quinn.

“There is no ‘foot in the door.’ You’re the door.”
Xan is a popular featured speaker on a wide range of topics. She’s been the guest of Nike, HBO, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences, SXSW, Film Independent, NALIP, Waggener Edstrom, Wake Forest University, Seattle University, the Yukon High School of Fine Arts, Columbia College, Northwestern University, the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, DePaul University, and many others.

Founder and Executive Director of the Chicago Short Film Brigade, Xan curated and hosted screenings of international short films from 2003 through 2012. The Sundance Institute recruited her for their ShortsLab: Chicago in 2011.

She has served on competition juries and grant panels across the nation.



Images by Phillip Faraone, Cameron Wittig, Xan Aranda, Mark Boyer, Sydney Fleischmann, Joseph Aranda, Myrna Suarez, Sean O'Malley, Jeff Sciortino, and others.